Regional Qualifiers Start This Weekend - May 3rd + 4th

by HiRez ESports | May 02, 2014
We've all been waiting patiently since the SMITE Launch Tournament for the start of the next season. Well wait no more! The recently announced SMITE: World Championship Series beings with the Regional Qualifiers this weekend on Saturday and Sunday - May 3rd @ 12:00pm EDT (North America) and May 4th @ 9:00am EDT / 1400 CEST (Europe).

Here's a list of details that all viewers and team should be aware of:
  • Weekly check-in time:
    • Saturdays (North America): 10:00am - 11:30am EDT
    • Sundays (Europe): 7:00am - 8:30am EDT / 13:00 - 14:30 CEST
  • Tournament start times:
  • ​Points (per week):
    • 1st: 100 points
    • 2nd: 60 points
    • 3rd: 40 points
    • 4th: 25 points
    • 5-8th: 10 points
    • Tournament entry: 2 points
  • ​Prize Pool (per region):
    • 1st: $500
    • 2nd: $350
    • 3rd: $150
    • 4th: 750 gems/player
  • ​Tournament rules, requirements and restrictions:
There are also a couple new additions and changes to the rules and structure of the tournament. One of the most notable additions to the tournament format would be the new draft mode - 6 god bans. This alone will open up to new strategies for teams during the Picks and Bans phase. This also means a new requirement of 16 gods (previously 14 gods) are needed to be unlocked, not mastered, in order to participate. Read the full Regional Qualifier rules to catch up on all of the changes.

A lot of new teams have shown interest in competing in the upcoming qualifiers as well as all of the veteran teams who most of them have restructured their rosters in hopes for better overall performance. We expect to see new strats, new team compositions and new top teams by the end of the qualifiers. Be sure to tune in each and every week for all of the action at www.Twitch.tv/SmiteGame.